#8 Half-Marathon is in the books! How important is training!

Posted: September 14, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Although I complete my 8th 1/2 Marathon on 9/13/15… It was not pretty!

Many runners race a 1/2 marathon every weekend, but when I was 310# back in 2010, the thought of even running was mind boggling to me. Now 135# lighter, the thought of running is contagious. As a runner it’s an addiction. A good addiction, but messes with your mind when I really can’t run because of an injury.

8 weeks into my training program I hurt my left knee while dancing at my 3rd daughter’s wedding. Although the idea of dancing all night was good, the jumping up and down with the little kids was not. I suffered some knee issues which ultimately affected my running training for this half marathon.

Completing a scheduled training program is crucial when deciding to run a long race.

In 2009 I weighed 310# and was morbidly obese according to the weight charts of being 6′-1″ and my % of body fat at 39%. It wasn’t until I was tested for sleep apnea and told that I didn’t have it, but probably should lose some weight. LOL, some weight… I was FAT and just sick and tired of being sick and tired. That little light bulb came on in my head which said “Hey, fat dumb ass, you better lose weight so you can be around to see your girls have grand children.

I set a goal in August 2010 to lose 100# by Thanksgiving 2010. On 11.1.10, I had lost 105# all of my own with no pills, no potions and no surgeries. Just good ‘ole exercise and following the book “Your Inner Skinny” written by Joy Bauer from the NBC Today Show. However, being 175# was not my ideal weight. People kept asking me are you sick. So based on the weight charts my ideal weight was going to be 200#.

As a FAT person, it’s so easy to fall back into those bad habits of just eating wrong and getting lazy. Therefore, I’ve gained some weight back, so now I’m on a mission to lose 30# by 7.14.15 to get measured for the Father’s Tuxedo for my last daughter’s wedding in August 2015.

Now that #8 is over, the idea of buying a bicycle is on my mind. Maybe this whole running thing is for people who are not suffering from knee pain. Riding a bike is probably better for my knees. Maybe I’ll give it a whirl.

Rick Gosser
219-808-9888
gosserrick@sbcglobal.net

Leave a Reply

