If it’s important you’ll find a way, if it’s not you’ll find an excuse.

Posted: January 9, 2016 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Forrest Gump’s Mama said, “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.” I thought about that quote when I recently watched the movie, and it hit me. I try to live my life on the positive side of the coin and encourage people to do the same with the hope to inspire as many as I can. Back in 2009, my life changed dramatically as I went on a mission to lose weight when I tipped the scale I stood on at 310#. My initial thought was how am I going to lose 100#. I was tested for sleep apnea with the thought of having to wear a C-PAP machine when sleeping for the rest of my life. The good news was I didn’t have sleep apnea, but I was FAT. I got up the next morning after I heard 1/2 the good news and started walking with Molly & Belle (Our family dogs). My first time around the block was exhausting. I weighed 310#, so any kind of exercise would of been just that. I tell people all the time “Ya gotta walk before ya can run.” and I’m not really referring to becoming a runner. It’s just things in life. Don’t make excuses for why you can’t get it done. Focus on all the reasons why you must MAKE IT HAPPEN.

Make a long story short, I lost 135# in 10-months in 2010 and I became a runner and a person who exercises everyday. A man who jumps out of airplanes for fun. I’ll try anything once and if I like it, I’ll do it again over and over.

Right around Christmas 2015, someone asked me if I was going to do another weight loss challenge. I mean I am human, so I to did gain 34# back that does not make me happy. So, I created the “Nip Your Waist 2016 Weight Loss Challenge.” The thought was everyone pays $20 and the person who loses the highest % of body fat in 12 weeks wins all the cash. I blasted it all over Facebook for 2 days and 15 people said YES! This thing was happening quick. First weigh-in date was 12/28/15 and people had to pay by 1/8/16. The only reason I did this was to re-motivate me to Get Fit for Life and lose my 34#. People motivate people. Many people started to pay and then 3 more people said YES to joining late, so I said sure because I didn’t want to discourage anyone from getting on the path to success of losing weight. People have to take a picture of their scale weight every Monday and text it to me. Everyone was given a random # and those results would be posted on Facebook showing the running % of weight loss every week. It’s all anonymous and only I know who has what number and what they weigh. I’m not telling anyone who is who.

I said if you don’t pay by 1/8/16, you are out. It’s an accountability thing. We are all busy and chasing money for weight loss challenge was not one thing I really wanted to do. We are all adults, if you are in… you’re in and if you’re not… it’s just another excuse. 1/8/16 came and only 9 out of 18 people paid. So I thought maybe I’ll just send out a little reminder to “motivate” the ones that may need the inspiration the most. Then the excuses started coming in from “I’m not getting in because your text was rude, it slipped my mind, I forgot to mail the check, the checks in the mail, please remove me from the challenge because I’ve been getting sales pitches via texts from people.” Nobody is too busy, it’s just a matter of priorities. I just tried to make it fun for people by putting a little spin on losing weight. Pay $20, lose weight and may the winner WIN. All 16 people now will be winners in many ways, because of we can all lose some weight in 12-weeks (which we will), we will all be WINNERS!

Make whatever you do in life important. Find a way.
If you don’t, it’s just an excuse.

Rick Gosser
219-808-9888
gosserrick@sbcglobal.net

Leave a Reply

