My 2nd Chance at LIFE! Molly helped me.

Posted: November 24, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 years ago today I got a phone call from the offices of Joy Bauer in New York City… “we want you to come to the Big Apple and be on the NBC Today Show LIVE on TV on 11/29/10.” Me: Yea, right, I’m just local guy from Crown Point, IN that decided to lose over 100# to become healthy. Now a member of the Official members of the “Joy Fit Club”. Maintaining that weight loss is even harder. It will always be a struggle for me. Time to get back to that goal weight… NOW!

Being overweight has always been a lifetime struggle for me. 1/1/2010 was my light bulb day. I was sick and tired of being sick and tired. It was always a laughing joke in my family that I could sleep anywhere, anytime. It didn’t matter if I was in the comfort of my own home or sitting on a bench at Walt Disney World. If I sat down, I went to sleep. In December 2009 I was tested for sleep apnea with the thought in my mind that I was going to be hooked up to C-PAP machine the rest of my life. When I was told I did not have sleep apnea, I said “Hey, I’m getting a 2nd chance at life.”

I stepped on that dreaded scale at home and it said 310#… My initial thought was: “Good Lord, what am I doing?” It was that day that I decided to do something about it. I started walking with my 2nd daughters dog “Molly.” You all don’t know Molly, but it was her pulling me down the street that got me to where I am today.

4526_524867858858_1121748_n

Molly is now a 60# dog that doesn’t take walking leisurely, she wants to run. So, I figured I better either start running or she’s gonna pull my arms off.

It was the summer of August 2010, when my wife said “try this book, maybe it will help you,” The Joy Bauer book “Your Inner Skinny.” In the 1st week, I lost 14#. I said where the hell has this book been and set a goal that day to lose 100# by Thanksgiving 2010.

This saga story will continue…

Rick Gosser
gosserrick@sbcgolbal.net
219-808-9888

Leave a Reply

