Why I decided to lose weight? My transformation story, fat to skinnier.

Posted: August 7, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday someone said to me “I don’t remember you ever being overweight.” I said, yes at 310#, I was fat. So here is my story. When I decided in December 2009 to lose weight, it was to get healthier and be in better shape. It was very hard to be 50 years old and weigh 310 pounds. I knew that I had to exercise and watch my food consumption. All overweight people know that’s what they need to do. It’s just hard to mentally start doing something about it. I started walking daily and began the journey of watching what I ate. Today, as I look back on the last year, I can’t even believe that I did it. I’ve lost 125 pounds as of this week. This picture taken in March 2010 reminds me that I was overweight.

In August 2010, my wife bought the book “Your Inner Skinny,” and her and my oldest daughter started the plan. Two weeks later, they suggested that I start the plan as well. That’s when everything really began for me. I weighed 270 pounds then, and by November 1st, I had lost another 65 pounds. My total weight loss was at 105 pounds. I posted my success on Joy Bauer’s Facebook fan page, and soon after, she contacted me about applying to become a member of the Joy Fit Club, an exclusive club of members that have lost over 100 pounds. New Joy Fit Club members are inducted on the NBC Today Show in New York. Soon after filling out the questionnaire, my application was accepted, and I appeared on the NBC Today Show on November 29th.

I am just your average hometown guy that was overweight and knew I needed to do something about it. I decided to go for it (with some help from my family), and now I’m sharing my story with other people who want to lose weight but are afraid to take that first step. Trust me, it’s never too late to become healthy.

A good friend and client of mine read the book in Nov 2010 and began his plan to do something about being overweight. He has 145# since that time. Three more of my clients started their own plans and together they have lost over 200 pounds in a few short months. I know 11 people that have decided to lose weight and together we have lost over 1,100#. Please know that I am always here to help. I want other people to achieve the same type of success that I have. I did it, and I know you can too!

Rick

Leave a comment